CFP–Faith and Spirituality in Masters of World Cinema, Volume III


CFP: Faith and Spirituality in Masters of World Cinema, Volume III (Updated).

July 9, 2014: The editors are seeking 1-2 additional papers for this project (now under contract with Cambridge Scholars Publishing) to replace previously accepted papers that have been withdrawn.

The relationship between film, faith, and spirituality provides rich possibilities for meaningful exploration into the human condition both as it is and as it ought to be. Faith and Spirituality in Masters of World Cinema is a series of books featuring essayists who inhabit this cross section, looking for images of transcendence—for “holy moments.”

The editor of Faith and Spirituality in Masters of World Cinema Volume I (Cambridge Scholars Press, 2008) and Volume II (Cambridge Scholars Press, 2011) seeks proposals for previously unpublished essays to appear in a third volume of this series.

While the editors of the third volume are primarily looking for essays dealing with any auteur not covered in the first two volumes, they are open to a fresh consideration of a previously covered director.* Special attention will be paid to submissions dealing with the work of the following:

-Olivier Assayas

-Woody Allen

Frank Borzage

-Stan Brakhage

-Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Joel and Ethan Coen

Vittorio De Sica

Asghar Farhadi

-Federico Fellini

-Alfred Hitchcock

-Abbas Kiarostami (something other than The Wind Will Carry Us)

-Krzysztof Kieślowski (The Decalogue)

-Hirokazu Koreeda

-Stanley Kubrick

Fritz Lang

-David Lean

-Richard Linklater

Terrence Malick

Hayao Miyazaki

-Cristian Mungiu

-Yasujirō Ozu

-Alain Resnais

-Paul Schrader

-Martin Scorsese

-Jacques Tati

-François Trouffaut

-Wim Wenders

-Andrey Zvyagintsev

Essays should demonstrate familiarity with the reception history or critical dialogue surrounding the director or film—but without being derivative. The terms “faith” and “spirituality” are defined broadly for the purpose of judging suitability for inclusion within the volume. Essays in previous volumes have generally been between 4,000 and 6,000 words, but, depending on the number of submissions, there will be some flexibility with length.

The deadline for proposals is September 1, 2013.

In the case of accepted proposals, completed essays will be expected no later than May 15, 2014. Electronic submissions are welcome.

Please direct proposals, submissions, or questions to:

Nicholas S. Olson

Department of English

Liberty University

1971 University Boulevard

Lynchburg, VA 24502

Questions may also be directed to:

Kenneth R. Morefield

Department of English

Campbell University

*Essays from Volumes I and II covered the following auteurs: Ingmar Bergman, Roberto Rossellini, Krzysztof Kieślowski, Robert Bresson, Carl Theodor Dreyer, Andre Tarkovsky,

Eric Rohmer, the Dardenne brothers, Mohsen Makhmalbaf, Ousmane Sembène, Guillermo del Toro, Pedro Costa, Luis Buñuel, Akiro Kurosawa, Michelangelo Antonioni, Frank Capra, Pier Paolo Pasolini, Satyajit Ray, Jean-Luc Godard, Abbas Kiarostami, Denys Arcand, Lars von Trier, Claire Denis, George Miller, Roy Andersson, and Tom Tykwer.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.